Summer is usually the season that inspires people to get up and move, try new things, travel, and make the most of the sunny days. In the autumn, however, we begin to slow down, take some time to relax, and spend more evenings at home, curled up in bed with hot cocoa and a good book. However, not everything will suit your long rainy evenings, which is why selecting the correct text is critical if you want to have the best fall experience.

This article presents X books to relax in the rainy evening. From Hunger Games by Susan Collins to The Secret History by Donna Tartt, it also covers titles such as Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, The Ex Hex by Erin Sterling, The Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware, Coraline by Neil Gaiman, and Misery by Stephen King. Check them out – and we hope you add some of these books to your Fall 2021 reading list.

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Coraline is a dark fantasy children’s novel written by Neil Gaiman and published in 2002. The story is set in the fictional Victorian Gothic house, where the main character, Coraline Widdershins, discovers a mysterious door leading to another world. The novel was nominated for several awards, including the British Fantasy Awards and Hugo Awards, and won the Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel.

The book is said to be inspired by Gaiman’s childhood memories of living in England, but it also refers to his previous works. Upon its release, Coraline was well-received by critics, who praised its style and language, describing it as “a work of art”. Sounds interesting? You might be interested in a Waterstones discount code.

The Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware

The Death of Mrs. Westaway is a psychological mystery novel written by Ruth Ware. It was published in 2018 and nominated for several awards, including the Costa Book Awards, the Edgar Award for Best First Novel, and the British Book Awards Crime & Thriller Book of the Year.

The story follows Hal, a young woman who has recently lost her job. She receives an unexpected letter from a distant relative which explains that she is the rightful heir to a fortune. Furthermore, it contains instructions on how to claim this money. Shortly after receiving this letter, Hal learns about the death of Mrs. Westaway. The woman had been murdered in her mansion, which was found locked from the inside. Although Hal is considered a suspect, she decides to follow the instructions left by Mrs. Westaway in order to solve the case.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Little Women is an 1868 novel written by Louisa May Alcott, which tells the story of four sisters living during the 1860s American Civil War era. It is considered one of America’s most beloved novels, which have inspired countless adaptations in various forms, including films, operas, musicals, radio shows, plays, cartoons, and even video games.

The book focuses on character development rather than plot development. It is told from the point of view of Jo March, the second oldest of the four sisters. The story follows the March sisters as they grow up, developing their own interests and personalities. It also depicts how each of them has to deal with real-life situations, such as sickness, death, relationship problems, and economic problems.

One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez

One Hundred Years of Solitude is a novel written by Gabriel García Márquez. Published in 1967, it was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982. The book tells the story of the fictional town of Macondo through the lives of the Buendía family. It discusses topics such as solitude, dreams, time, love, death, violence, and family.

The novel has received numerous awards, including the Miguel de Cervantes Prize, France’s Prix Mondial Cino Del Duca, and UNESCO’s Rabelais Prize. It has since become one of the most important novels of the 20th century.

We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter

We Were the Lucky Ones is a novel written by Georgia Hunter. It focuses on the story of five Polish Jewish siblings who are separated during World War II. Their father decides to send them away to save them from the Holocaust. The children are sent to five different families across Europe, while their parents are imprisoned in Auschwitz. The book follows the siblings during the war, telling their individual stories through their eyes.

The novel received praise from critics, who praised its plot development and language, calling it “a triumph”. It was nominated for several awards, including the Costa Book Awards and the Edgar Award for Best First Novel.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

The Handmaid’s Tale is a dystopian novel written by Margaret Atwood. It was published in 1985 and won several awards, including Governor General’s Award for English Fiction and Arthur C. Clarke Award for science fiction and fantasy. The Handmaid’s Tale centers around Offred and her life as a handmaid in a dystopian society known as Gilead. The novel is considered to be one of the most important works of feminist science fiction.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

The Secret History is a 1993 novel written by Donna Tartt. The story is set at a fictional New England college where a group of students decides to form a secret society. As the story progresses, the reader learns about the dark secrets of this group. The book includes several murders and explores topics such as class, gender, and money. It was nominated for several awards, including the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Silmarillion is an epic fantasy novel written by J.R.R. Tolkien. It was first published posthumously in 1977 and focuses on the history of Middle-earth and Arda. The book was previously published in 1977, edited by Christopher Tolkien, and illustrated by Alan Lee. It contains various different narratives, including the creation of Arda and the beginning of the First Age, as well as the end of the Third Age, and was described as “the third part” of The Lord of the Rings.

Although it received mixed reviews upon its release, it has since become one of the most influential fantasy novels of all time.

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

The Book Thief is a book written by Australian writer Markus Zusak. It was published in 2005 and won several awards The novel tells the story of Liesel Meminger, a young girl who lives with her foster family during World War II Nazi Germany. She is sent to live with a foster family and soon discovers that her new guardian is a member of the Nazi Party. The girl starts stealing books from the library and sharing them with her friends, which helps her to deal with life during World War II.

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

A Little Life is a 2015 novel written by Hanya Yanagihara. It was nominated for several awards, including the Man Booker Prize and National Book Award for Fiction. The novel tells the story of four college friends who move to New York City after graduating from college. The book focuses on the lives of four friends, who are still struggling to cope with their traumatic pasts.

In Conclusion

Whether you like dark fantasy or science fiction, thrillers or classics, there is a book for you. You can read them in your bedroom, at the beach, or even on the train. If you are looking for the perfect book for your rainy fall evenings, any of these 10 books will be a great choice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.